In the test this afternoon the fielders appealed for lbw. A review showed that the ball had grazed the bat but was given out caught as the ball had been caught bat/pad at short leg. The replay seemed to indicate that all the appeals had been made before the catch. Does an appeal before the event count? And can the fielding side add an appeal after the review
A single appeal of "How's that?" covers all modes of dismissal - including a dismissal that technically occurred after the appeal. But obviously, the umpire wouldn't answer the appeal until such time that he had all the necessary info (e.g. it's not out LBW because he hit it, now will someone catch it?).
As for appealing after a review, I assume there are ECB/ ICC protocols which prohibit this. Having said that, during the review the TV umpire should look at all possible modes of dismissal I would guess.